Home of N2D.

You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

10-12-2012 12:14 pm  #1

FoIs 24709, 24800 and 24801

http://i.imgur.com/24e78.jpg

10-12-2012 5:33 pm  #2

Re: FoIs 24709, 24800 and 24801

We would not allow the notebook to be videod or photographed to ensure other....

I'm no lawyer so I might be totally wrong but that sentence pricks my fist-punching-the-air rebel soul. I reckon what they don't say is more important than that carefully worded phrase-designed to mislead us into thinking that any photographical record taking would be a crime.

The absence of a sentence like 'Under the "1823 Act Misuse Of Fox Talbot or Daguerre Techniques In The Presence Of Crown Officials" is glaring...as is any reference to what action an Officer might then take if an individual was so criminal as to photograph the notebook. Where is the 'officers have the right to confiscate'...? Where is the 'Officers will summon the Police to arrest the offender'?

Nowhere.

They are chancing it. We know from other FOI's that officers may NOT remove photographic equipment or cell phones etc EVEN IF they are being used in a 'forbidden' area such as a port.

"would not allow" isn't the same as 'is illegal' nor 'we will prevent/detain"

The bit about ensuring the privacy of other information in the notebook sounds like they are preparing an argument to put before the bench.

Shopping, next FOI ask them what action officers are advised to take if an interviewee is so wicked as to whip out a camera and photograph the notebook without asking permission? What is the situation regarding interviewees like me with covert video cameras? If I were to read the notebook before signing then the spy cam would record an image....several infact..

All that 'would not allow' means is that if an interviewee were to ask to photograph the notebook then permission would be refused, IMO!

Last edited by The Blocked Dwarf (10-12-2012 5:42 pm)